Zelaron Gaming Forum  
Stats Arcade Portal Forum FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Zelaron Gaming Forum > The Zelaron Nexus > General Discussion > Life Discussion

The Exciting Life of a Postgrad
Posted 2012-01-20, 05:25 PM
So I appear to be a year behind on what was turning into a yearly tradition... but hey, it's half eleven, feels likes it's gone two am, I'm bored and feel the need to splurge.

---

If you don't already know, I graduated with my degree last July (a disappointing 2:ii in the end - theory of computation, and mathematics in general, is not a strong point of mine) and returned to the same University at the end of September to begin a taught postgraduate Master's in Computer Science.

So far, so good - the content up until now has been re-hashes of undergraduate modules that I've already done (apparently the department don't expect graduates to return to do a taught Master's), which is a good thing, as I'm easily on track for a distinction (average of 70% in my modules and over 70% in my dissertation).

Accommodation is costing me close to £7,500, with fees of £5,000, and with no loans available to me from the government, the University or banks, money is something of a problem (I'm borrowing close to £6,000 from my parents), but it has to be done. The job market is pretty terrible, and everyone has a degree. At the very worst this year, I leave with a low-grade Master's... but that's still more than a huge majority of the population can claim, and Lenny BSc(Hons)(Dunelm) MSc has a nice look to it.