Zelaron Gaming Forum  
Stats Arcade Portal Forum FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Zelaron Gaming Forum > The Zelaron Nexus > General Discussion > Life Discussion

My career/job
Posted 2018-11-08, 09:22 AM
About a year and a half ago, I was laid off from my ceramics research job that I had been doing for over 10 years by that point. Unfortunately, ceramics research is a very niche thing and finding more work in that field was not likely to happen again anytime soon. Research jobs in general, at the time, seemed to be pretty difficult to acquire, presumably for a lot of the same reasons I lost my job in the first place (research funding cuts by our Great Leader and his administration.)

To make ends meet, after my savings started to run dry and I had no income, I started donating plasma regularly. I was making close to $400/month from that, which was better than having $0/month income, but it wasn't sustainable long-term and was only a solution until I found another job.

Incidentally, I decided somewhat randomly to apply to work in the lab portion of the plasma donation center and ended up getting the job. It isn't as nice of a job as my last job, and requires far more actual work. Rather than sitting at a desk surfing the internet all day like I used to, I bust my ass non stop now.