Zelaron Gaming Forum  
Stats Arcade Portal Forum FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   Zelaron Gaming Forum > The Zelaron Nexus > General Discussion > Opinion and Debate

Dawkins and Memetics
Posted 2007-05-06, 11:28 AM
To follow the rest of this post, you should know a little bit about who Richard Dawkins is, and what memes are. If you have read The Selfish Gene you can safely skip the next two paragraphs.

Richard Dawkins is best known for his outspoken antitheism, but he is a biology professor by profession. His contribution to modern biology is where his fame originally stems from. His first book, The Selfish Gene, elegantly explains and justifies the gene-centric perspective on the theory of evolution to the biologist or the layman. To briefly summarize the book, Dawkins claims that genes are the unit of natural selection. Genes are immortal replicators whose success in nature depends on longevity, fecundity, and copying-fidelity. This changes the purpose of life from a biological standpoint from perpetuating a species to perpetuating a gene. Animals, plants, bacteria, and all other forms of life on earth are simply “survival machines” for the genes. As irrational as this may originally seem, Dawkins convincingly justifies his claims in his book. However, the purpose of my post is not to defend his gene-centric theory, so if you are interested in the theory I suggest picking up the book. It is important to understand Dawkins’ basic ideas on genes to understand the topic I wish to discuss: memetics.