PDA

View Full Version : C++ Programming

Medieval Bob
2002-09-12, 05:16 PM
I have no experience whatsoever with C++ programming. I got Bloodshed Dev-C++ 4 from download.com, but I don't know if I should be using something else. What do I need to download, or if absolutely necessary, buy, to get started? Also, can anyone direct me to some tutorials for beginners?

Sum Yung Guy
2002-09-12, 05:20 PM
Dunno any tutorials, but I use Visual C++. I can direct this thread to the programming section for you however.

Medieval Bob
2002-09-12, 06:32 PM
Ah sry bout that. Didn't realize there was a programming forum as I've never posted in it. Visual C++ eh? Downloadable?

Canadianxtreme
2002-09-12, 08:58 PM
actualy.. the best thing you should do.. is get Codeworrior..
or visual.. but if you ask me.. and if you want to learn C++.. really well.. than use Codeworrior.. doesnt have as many "Cool" options as visual.. but its a good way to start.. (if you need codeworrior.. ask me)
and seccond about tutorials.. you should honestly go out and buy the C++ Programing guide,... its about 30-60 bucks (depends on where you live) and its over 1000pages thick,.. but its a good reference and it comes in really handy

WetWired
2002-09-13, 07:28 AM
Don't get Codewarrior. Codewarrior sucks. I say this from experiance. Metroworks seems to not understand the Windows interface standards and likes forcing Macism on us. Besides, the majority of tutorials will assume you are using Visual C++. The easiest version to optain is Visual C++.net:
http://www.compusa.com/products/product_info.asp?product_code=290050
However, most tutorials will probably expect v6.0. You may even be able to find restricted licence versions of 6.0 for $60 and under at retail stores (subject to local demand for such things :rolleyes: ).

Then, of course, there is e-bay.

In any case, my reccomendation is Visual C++ v6.0, or barring that, Visual C++ .net

Hellmonkeys
2002-09-13, 10:10 PM
If you need Visual C++ IM me. :p

Dhelds