PDA

View Full Version : The walls are closing in on me.

Raziel
2005-08-14, 10:25 PM
At the moment, my life is going fairly well. I'm living in Syracuse, Utah, just outside of Salt Lake with my guitarist, Dan and his family. I'm staying here rent-free, I've got a wad of cash in my bank account that I'm living off of until I find a new job (the electrician thing didn't work out), I'm in the process of snagging a new car (and by "new" I mean "used-but-new-to-me"), and my band is kicking unholy ass in the writing department. I'm making a lot of new friends and I, by all rights, should have nothing to be upset about. Regardless of these facts, however, I am still in a shitty state of mind.

Here's the deal. I have not been involved with anyone for nearly four years. I've dated a few chicks here and there, but I haven't been in an honest-to-God relationship since I graduated highschool. Part of the reason was because I just didn't want to deal with the hassle. It was just always easier to have responsibility limited solely to myself, without having to worry about others. Part of the reason is also the fact that I was scared of committing myself again. The last person I was seriously involved with tore a hole through my guts the size of a Mack truck, and it's left me wary of attempting to probe the mind of the female population since. I didn't want to have to deal with the agony of that situation again, and as such, I combined both excuses as a manner of writing off relationships for the last four years. I was mostly pretty content with this situation until I moved to Syracuse and started living with Dan and his family.